This pretty town of 3,000 lies on the Rideau Canal and Rideau River. The name comes from Indian
for "Island in a river." The town used to have three different water-powered mills, and
had a small industrial complex, a wharf for steamer boats. In the 1920s, the Highway 16
to Ottawa was paved, and the town got electrical power. In the 1950s the community became
a bedroom community for Ottawa.
The main street is home to over a dozen charming turn-of-the-century buildings that house retail stores, restaurants and bars, some dating back as far as 1860. The town's water-powered gristmill was recently restored, both inside and out, and is the focal point of the Dickinson Square Conservation Area. The Mill also hosts a Saturday farmers and crafts market. Long Island Park features miles of walking paths and picnic and barbecue facilities. In the winter, the park is used for cross-county skiing and snowshoeing. The town is also just downstream from Mahogany Harbour on the Rideau River, and just upstream of the Long Island Locks on the Canal.
Annual Events: Spring Art Show (April), Victoria Day (late May), Dickinson Day (early June), Strawberry Social (June), Olde Fashioned Christmas (December)
Business listings for Manotick
Dickinson Square Conservation Area
This area covers several acres of parkland along the Rideau River, but also the Manotick locks, and several historic buildings. These include Watson's Mill (1860), Dickinson House (1868), the Union Bank building (1900), and the Howard Henry Building (1870) which is now a restaurant.
PO Box 145, Dickinson Squaare, Manotick, K4M 1A2
Built in 1860, of limestone cut from the river's bed, this stone mill served the area for many years. Watch how wheat is ground into flour, powered only by water. The Mill is haunted by a ghost, Ann Crosby Currier. 10:30-4:30 daily June - Aug. Saturdays 9-2 until mid November. Admission free or by donation.